Four years ago, during the Cowboys’ 2014 NFC playoff game against the Green Bay Packers, the argument about what exactly is a catch in the NFL began.
The refs in the Packers-Cowboys playoff game determined Dez Bryant did not maintain possession throughout the process of going to the ground, eliminating what would have been an easy set up for a touchdown.
Cowboys fans were pissed then and still are now.
Fast forward to 2020 and now Mike McCarthy, who was the Packers coach on that day, is now the newest head coach of the Cowboys.
He was presented with the question about Dez Bryant now that he is on the other side and he answered it perfectly.
New #Cowboys coach Mike McCarthy on whether Dez caught the ball in the #Packers playoff game in the 2014 season: “It was a great catch, I can say now. It wasn’t then – technically.”pic.twitter.com/GUOkfKC4S5
— Dov Kleiman (@NFL_DovKleiman) January 8, 2020
He responded, “The 1st thing i said to myself was That was one hell of an athletic catch.”
“It was a great catch, I can say now. But it wasn’t a catch then… technically.”
McCarthy says referee Gene Steratore gave him the right explanation of the rule, or else he wouldn’t have challenged it. “Stephen (Jones) has since gotten it changed on the competition committee.”
Jerry: “Stephen, these damn officials shouldn’t talk so much.”